I don’t remember when I first went to the JunkMarket.  Originally it was a big warehouse in Long Lake with occasional sales with “Junk” reconditioned into stylish housewares and furniture.  My first visits were great.  I bought a lot of things that I have until this day.  The sales were crowded but the prices were great and the selection amazing.  They had come up with a new way of taking junk and making it sustainable.  They found things across the county from abandoned warehouses to old estates.  It was Martha Stewart meet American Pickers.  It was one of the best resources I knew. 

 As time progressed the sales became more expensive and crowded and then one day they were moved.locations and I eventually lost track until I found out that they were having a Junk Market bonanza at Medina ballroom.  There was a charge to get in but the sale was great.  I think at that time Ki and Sue (the owners) had just written a book.  I was in love again.  This time they had brought in additional vendors and had interesting new items from industrial baking pans converted to wall art to wine racks.  But alas the sad news I learned is that Sue and Ki had “broken” up.  I couldn’t believe it!  I never heard the details.  The good news is that both of them to continue to embrace the junk lifestyle. 

Sue Whitney has continued her mission with Junk Market Style.  She is doing shows and is the editor at large for Country Home.  Her upcoming show is this weekend.  Details:

JUNKMARKET Under Glass “MARCH MADNESS” 

March 1, 2 & 3, 2012

Otten Bros. Garden Center and Landscaping is located at 2350 West Wayzata Blvd, Long Lake MN. JUNKMARKET Under Glass hours will be start Thursday at 8-10am with Early Bird Shopping.  Beat the crowd and get the great buys before anyone else.  Remember, the early bird gets the worm!  Early Bird Shopping admission is $20 which is good for all three days!  Regular shopping hours start Thursday from 10am-6pm, Friday and Saturday 10am-5pm. Regular Admission is $5 for each day.

 So what has become of Ki Clayton, the other half of Junkmarket?  If you are old school Southdale shopper, you will remember the “dress” shop of the same name.  It was by far one of my most favorite dress stores, back in the day when they put plastic dress shields over the most exquisite silk dresses. I still to this day have fond memories of a red and white dress with bows that I wore everywhere.
 
Well Junk Bonanza is still Ki’s baby and she is the editor of a fabulous magazine called Flea Market Style.  If you haven’t yet seen this magazine, I highly recommend it!  Junk bonanza is in September.  Check it out.  It’s not inexpensive but a great place for ideas.